Mosfet Regulator Conversion - Lithium Battery Safe

I've decided to reproduce an article I originally posted on The Ducati Forum as it's a one that keeps getting referenced by others a bit when looking into installing a Lithium battery into an older Ducati that wasn't intended to be equiped with one originally, as it usually preceeded the technology.

So............I've got round to fitting the Mosfet regulator to the 1098R today. As I was a complete novice as to doing this conversion, I've decided to post this, in case it's useful to others doing the same.

Time -
  • Approx 2 hours
Parts -
  • Mosfet regulator. I got this 2nd hand from a Ducati breaker for about £40. It's a part common with a load of bikes that Ducati make and fitted as std to the LiPo equipped Panigale R.
1.JPG

• Triumph conversion lead. About £28 from eBay, but I believe it's quite a bit cheaper from a dealer.
2.png

• Bikesport Developments RHS regulator conversion bracket, £100 (optional if you want to move the reg away from the exhaust). The original regulator is just above the exhaust and I imagine there's a lot of heat in the area. In fact, the heat shield on my bike has bubbled up as it's close to the 70mm system. This comes with extension leads and bolts / spacers.
3.png

So, here we go.........

Select your favourite 848, 1098, 1198.

4.JPG

Fairings and belly pan off.

5.JPG

Disconnect the battery negative cables.

Remove the ECU (2 bolts). I have read that people remove the battery box. I didn't need to.

6.JPG

Remove the regulator located behind the ECU (2 bolts)

7.JPG

8.JPG

My 2 regulator electrical connectors showed no signs of heat damage, so I could proceed. If yours do, rectify them. (no pun intended)

9.JPG